skip to Main Content

Atlanta History Center

The Atlanta History Center’s mission is to inspire people to connect to the past so they may better understand the present and prepare for the future. The Center is located on thirty-three acres in the heart of Atlanta’s Buckhead district and includes one of the Southeast’s largest history museums; a research library and archives that annually serves more than 10,000 patrons; two historic houses illustrating over a century of Atlanta’s history; a two-acre midtown campus which houses the Margaret Mitchell House & Museum; and a series of gardens unique in both design and horticultural presentation in the metropolitan area.

Atlanta Preservation Center

The Atlanta Preservation Center is an  independent advocate for historic buildings, neighborhoods and landscapes citywide. Founded in 1980, the nonprofit organization has worked with government, business, community leaders, and property owners to preserve more than 100 endangered residential and commercial structures and neighborhoods. Its advocacy and education programs, including the annual Phoenix Flies event, have made preservation come alive for thousands of area residents.

Georgia State Historic Preservation Office

Within the Georgia Department of Natural Resources, the Historic Preservation Division serves as the state’s historic preservation office. The office provides financial and technical assistance, administers partnership projects, manages the National Register programs and surveys for Georgia, provides archaeological services, information resources, and planning and local assistance.

Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation

The mission of the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation is to promote an appreciation of Georgia’s diverse historic resources and provide for their protection and use to preserve, enhance and revitalize Georgia’s communities. In addition to providing preservation resources for individuals and communities throughout the state, the work of The Georgia Trust helps save endangered houses and buildings through their revolving fund, uncover the beauty of downtown buildings through the Main Street Design Assistance program, host educational forums and tours, and advocate for preservation funding and laws.

National Trust for Historic Preservation

The National Trust for Historic Preservation is a privately funded non-profit organization that provides leadership, education, advocacy, and resources to save America’s diverse historic places and revitalize our communities. For more than 50 years, the National Trust has been helping Americans protect the irreplaceable. A private nonprofit organization with more than 270,000 members, the National Trust is the leader of the vigorous preservation movement that is saving the best of the country’s past for the future.

National Trust for Historic Preservation: Easements

Containing a number of FAQs, this site provides general guidance on preservation easements. Topics include baseline documentation, the difference between local preservation protection and preservation easements, sample easement documents, and easement publications.

National Register of Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places is the Nation’s official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. Properties listed in the Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture. The National Register is administered by the National Park Service, which is part of the U.S. Department of the Interior.

Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation

These are ten basic principles created to help preserve the distinctive character of a historic building and its site, while allowing for reasonable change to meet new needs. The Standards (36 CFR Part 67) apply to historic buildings of all periods, styles, types, materials, and sizes. They apply to both the exterior and the interior of historic buildings. The Standards also encompass related landscape features and the building’s site and environment as well as attached, adjacent, or related new construction.

Back To Top